Sully’s Fourth of July celebration draws hundreds

Hundreds of people flocked to the Sully town square on the Fourth of July to celebrate our nation’s independence. From the early start of the Fun Run to the late night fireworks, the town of Sully was buzzing with activity and the place to be to recognize and enjoy our nation’s freedom. The freedom that was fought for and protected by the veterans was the annual celebration’s theme.

Parade and Waterfight Winners:

Grand Prize Winner: Clint Vos family, "Jesus – Like a Rock" pulled by a 1981 Z28 Camaro.

Large Floats: 1. Sully First Reformed Church 2. First State Bank.

Small Floats: 1. Ben and Jack Vos of Pella, grandsons of Eldon and Brenda Nikkel of Sully. 2. Megan and Mya Van Zante, Krystal and Klayton Van Dyke, Kaitlin Alberts. 3. Sully Christian School, “Let Your Light Shine.”

Bicycles: 1. Sullivan Vande Voort. 2. Hattie Johnson. 3. Jakeira Hay.

Tractors: 1. Nate Woolridge of Peoria, 1965 Oliver 1550 with mounted New Idea 316 cornpicker and Heider wagon. 2. Marty Vander Molen of Sully, 1941 Ford 9N with sno-trac add-on. 3. Doug Veenstra of Pella, John Deere 630 and John Deer Patio 112 ridden by Wilbur J. Veenstra's grandkids.

Autos/Trucks: 1. Marvin and Judy Klein of Pella, 1964 Chevy Impala two-door hardtop, their first car. 2. Jeff Scholten of Galesburg, 1970 Chevelle. 3. Marvin Van Gorp of Montezuma, 1930 Model A Ford sedan.

Horses, Buggies, and Carts: 1. Terry, Paula, Cheyenne and Christine Nikkel in honor of their son and brother, Levi, who is serving in Afghanistan. 2. Lynnville Saddle Club. 3. Dick and Marlene Smith of Searsboro, homemade wagon in its second appearance pulled by miniature horses Ernie and Rose.

Waterfights: Area fire departments participating: Chariton, Colfax, Lucas, Monroe, Reasnor, Sully. Adult winners: 1. Matt Riechmann, Chariton. 2. Tim “Tator” Graves, Chariton. 3. Kyle Padget, Monroe. Children ages 5-6: Cambria Van Dyke, winner; Ethan Anderson, Presley Anderson, Caden Anema, Avery Helmuth, Alaina Safly, Ashlyn Van Maanen. Children ages 7-8: Trevor Veenstra, winner; Allison Anema, Saige DeJong, Sydne DeJong, Keagan Fopma, Cody Graham, Paige Safly, Skyler Stoll, Annika Van Dyke, Klayton Van Dyke, Jonathan Van Gorp, Lauren Van Maanen. Children 9-10: Logan Allbee, winner; Hailee Anderson, Aiden Brand, Brieley DeJong, Matthew German, Rachel Hampton, Brady Sassman, Kathryn Van Maanen, Erica Walters. Children 11-12: Kelly Van Wyk, winner; Dylan Anema, Gabriel Hampton, Tyler Helmuth, Courtney Gannaway, Dylan Gannaway, Mason Gannaway, Kinnick McFarland, Caden Van Dyke, Allison Van Gorp, Kara Van Wyk, Bradley Walters, Ethan Wyma.


Click to view a photo album from the Sully Fourth of July Celebration.

Comments are closed.