Sully Mayor reelected; three former Sully Councilmembers elected by write-in

Unofficial results of the Nov. 7 city election are: With 130 votes cast, as the only name on the ballot, Sully Mayor Brent Vander Molen was reelected with 86 votes and there were 16 scattered write-ins.

With no names on the ballot, councilmembers elected by write-in were all former councilmembers from past years: Gordon Yarrington with 66, Wes Van Wyk with 64, and Teryl Ver Ploeg with 63. The next three top vote getters by write-in were the incumbents who did not seek reelection: Diane Vos with 47, Chad Fikse with 39, and Phyllis Zylstra with 30. Yarrington, Van Wyk, and Ver Ploeg have 10 days after the 2 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 14, canvass by the Jasper County Board of Supervisors, who make vote totals official, to decide whether to fill the seat or resign in writing to the Sully City Clerk by 5 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 24. The unofficial vote totals from 130 ballots with three write-ins each for the Sully Council seats were completed at 9 p.m., an hour after the polls closed, and the last to report totals in Jasper County.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software